Mile High Morning: Four Broncos make CBS Sports’ all-time Super Bowl team –


The Lead

As we approach a Super Bowl in which there probably is no preferable winner for diehard Broncos fans, perhaps it’s best to take a look back at Super Bowl history instead.

Reviewing the previous 54 Super Bowls, CBS Sports’ Bryan DeArdo created a 53-man roster based on players’ performances in the big game. Four Broncos made the team, though none were classified as part of the roster’s starting lineup.

On offense, Super Bowl XXXII MVP Terrell Davis was listed as the backup to Super Bowl XXVIII MVP Emmitt Smith. Davis, who might be considered the best playoff running back in NFL history, ran for 259 yards and three touchdowns in two Super Bowls, including a 157-yard, three-touchdown game vs. Green Bay.

Along the offensive line, former Broncos center Tom Nalen and former guard Mark Schlereth were picked to the second team. In addition to helping lead Denver’s offensive line in Super Bowls XXXII and XXXIII, Schlereth also won a title with Washington in Super Bowl XXVI.

Defensively, the Broncos placed just one player on the roster: Von Miller. Miller was picked as a reserve behind four-time Super Bowl champion Jack Ham.

Dejar respuesta

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here